SSHFS on Windows via Samba Shares on Ubuntu VMWare– The Glass is Too Big

March 6, 2007

I love, love, love sshfs. I’ve found so many great uses for it. And like many others, I’ve occasionally wondered if Windows users could join in the fun.
This is not quite it. Useful, I suppose, but it’s not the magic. Anyway, it’s the best I’ve seen so far.
SSHFS on Windows via Samba Shares on Ubuntu VMWare– The Glass is Too Big

via Ubuntu Blog

Update: The author adds a good point in this comment:

It’s not overkill because once you’ve got an Ubuntu VM, it’s pretty likely you’ll use it for plenty of other things. I’ve got one that serves as my web development server. It’s running the LAMP stack, this sshfs hookup to all of my servers, various database engines, etc. While most of that is possible using Cygwin, it’s nowhere NEAR as easy to set up.

But that just highlights the fact that it is overkill for sshfs. Sshfs is just an added benefit while the VM does its real work. Of course it would seem to me that if you’re using the Ubuntu VM all the time, you would eventually just ditch the Windows. I realize that people have their reasons and requirements. Wouldn’t something lighter than Ubuntu be a better choice, though?

Leave a Reply

