A quick tip on using BibTeX and Emacs to keep track of sources efficiently

April 18, 2007

sacha chua :: tech evangelist, connector, geek :: 2007.04.17

Aside from the main point about BibTeX, the best part has to be:

I put my notes into a fortune file (chunks delimited by % on a line by itself) because whenever I get writer’s block, I like retrieving random notes using the fortune command.

I’ve always thought fortune to be amongst the weirdest of apps to be so ubiquitous, but now my mind is overflowing with potential uses.

Unfortunately, looking for a fal-e khair, I just ran plain old fortune. The result:

You will outgrow your usefulness.

Hmm… Al-hamduliLlah `ala kull hal.

One Response to “A quick tip on using BibTeX and Emacs to keep track of sources efficiently”

  1. Sacha Chua Says:

    Thanks for the link!

    I’ve also used randomization to add little taglines to my signature and to my blog post. Trust in the Random Number God.


Leave a Reply

