(Trying to stop myself from) Subverting Subversion

May 21, 2007

A few months ago I moved all of my personal stuff into a subversion repository. My goals were to impose yet another layer of organization, while at the same time making sure there was a fall-back copy of everything for when I slipped out of that organization. It’s also a much better way to ensure redundancy in my personal file storage. Unfortunately Subversion’s powers only extend so far. There are so many things – say, the template for what you’re seeing – where it’s just too easy to edit it on the production server. I really wish I didn’t do that, but it’s a constant struggle to remind myself. I’m OK with client work or anything that generates revenue, but this is pure recreation, right? Of course, when something goes wrong I’ll be just as perturbed. Now why don’t I maintain this using svn (as a client, not the host?) Can I come up with a good excuse? Not really. I guess I’ll have to do it. Do you think Subversion could pick up my son from school? I’m sure I’ll want to rollback my parenting mistakes at some point anyway.

Leave a Reply

