G-archiver fiasco: Unwarranted speculation

March 10, 2008

I already commented at Coding Horror and elsewhere about the actual issues in this whole G-archiver mess. (In case you didn’t see this, G-Archiver is a program for managing a gmail account which also happens to send the users id and password to the developer’s email account. Yep, everyone’s worst nightmare.)

Anyway, as AFAIK the author of the internet’s only abjad-themed quasi-tech blog, how could I resist this:

client.Credentials = new NetworkCredential(“JTerry79@gmail.com”, “bilal482”);

(I don’t think I’m surprised, but only one commenter at CH even came close to taking this where it might have gone in some other sections of the web, alling Bilal an “Asian name.” Must be a Brit.)

So, just for the record, what I’m suggesting here is absurd, and 482 is almost certainly proof that the little creep was born in April of 1982 (which to my dismay means he’s already almost 26).

I couldn’t recall any particular equivalence to 482, and I didn’t think this meritted sitting for hours working on the problem, and every jafr/abjad related bit of code I’ve ever written has been slower than the cryptogram solutions from Rubyquiz. (Yes, the secret is caching – just unleash an analyzer on a big corpus of text and build a database. Still putting together combinations would be absurdly slow because it combines finding lists of addends with database queries and – presumably – utf text processing.) So, I took the laziest of lazy ways out and used the tables in Shama`-e Shaistan-e Nuri. The only combination I checked was if there was a 390 I could add to 92, but no luck, so the only thing I came up with is that 482 is the `adad-e malfuzi of Mukarram. So there you go. Case closed.

Maybe Mr. Terry could enlighten us.

Leave a Reply

